What clutch?

6fourstroker

Reaction score
Hey guys, my zf6 RCLB is screaming for a new clutch.. Valair or South Bend? I've heard both are good, but that Valair is way better lol.. My dilemma between the two is do I really need to spend close to double for a Valair? I have no plans for my truck to be a race truck or driven hard daily.. As of now my truck is deleted, mini max, and air intake.. It's not even studded yet so I'm not hard on it.. I do run the HD 300 but my foot stays out of it. (Most of the time) i do plan on studding it soon though.

I just want this truck to run 550-650 safely and smoothly.

What are your thoughts? This is my first time buying a new clutch for anything.

Radioflyer

Reaction score
We just did a SB DD in a 6.4 SCLB and it actually drove really nice. Was able to take the upper tune power levels with no problem (reason why we did a disc to it). Only complaint I have with Dual Disks is they're a little loud with the clutch peddle out and in neutral. Other then that it wasn't bad driving.

CAT35niner

Reaction score
I have a south bend DD 3850. It holds my power and shifts great. Haven't had an issue with it. I would say you can run a 3650 safely. Just being tuned.

lengelhardt

Reaction score
I'd go with a valair. Running one of Dans singles and love it. Also have a dual disk in a 12 valve holding almost 600hp. I have heard problems with south bends having problems with their floater plates. If you call Dan he'll give you really good deal.

08twinturbo

Reaction score
I'd go with a valair. Running one of Dans singles and love it. Also have a dual disk in a 12 valve holding almost 600hp. I have heard problems with south bends having problems with their floater plates. If you call Dan he'll give you really good deal.

Just curious. How is the stiffness on the single compared to the dual disc. Looking to buy one for a customer. He is tuned as well but doesn't want too stiff for daily driving.

lengelhardt

Reaction score