2005 block heater

eng53ine

Member
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
834
Reaction score
3
Location
Ohio
Need to replace my block heater on my 2005, O’reillys has a zerostart element and cord for $90. Found the same thing on Amazon from the zerostart store for $65, with a lot of mixed reviews. Is this something better to get oem or are they pretty well all the same?
Thanks for any input.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

eng53ine

Member
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
834
Reaction score
3
Location
Ohio
No, was going to but they haven’t replied to any posts since the end of November.
 

DEEZUZ

Active member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
6,283
Reaction score
17
Location
NWI
I would just try a cord first. 98% of the time it's just the cord.

And we've used zerostart for years. No issues
 

eng53ine

Member
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
834
Reaction score
3
Location
Ohio
I would just try a cord first. 98% of the time it's just the cord.

And we've used zerostart for years. No issues
Ok, but I should be able to ohm through the current cord correct? I don’t get any arch or whatever ever you’d call it when I plug it in. I’m not sure if this one did that but my 7.3 did, I assume it worked last winter before I changed my glow plugs. Only had two or three of the eight that worked.
 

DEEZUZ

Active member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
6,283
Reaction score
17
Location
NWI
Luxury for me I just grab a cord off the shelf and plug it right in and then put my hand on it or listen for it. I've never tesred either or.
 

DEEZUZ

Active member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
6,283
Reaction score
17
Location
NWI
Absolutely any parts store should have the cord/heater.
 

eng53ine

Member
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
834
Reaction score
3
Location
Ohio
Luxury for me I just grab a cord off the shelf and plug it right in and then put my hand on it or listen for it. I've never tesred either or.
I might have a cord hooked to a 7.3 in the field, I’m assuming the cords are the same connection at the heater.
 

DEEZUZ

Active member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
6,283
Reaction score
17
Location
NWI
Yep. You'll either have a screw on cap or the 2 prongs that just slide over the threads.
 

DEEZUZ

Active member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
6,283
Reaction score
17
Location
NWI
I'm betting the factory cord connection terminals are fried.

I've legit never changed a heater element in a 6.0 and have zero issues taking them out of. 300k engine sand tossing them into new motors.
 

eng53ine

Member
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
834
Reaction score
3
Location
Ohio
I'm betting the factory cord connection terminals are fried.

I've legit never changed a heater element in a 6.0 and have zero issues taking them out of. 300k engine sand tossing them into new motors.
That’s kinda what was just going through my head, the past two winters it had to be plugged in below 50* to start. I think I also gave the cord quite a jolt, when I pulled my inner fender out for glow plugs.
 

6.0 Tech

Active member
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
3,167
Reaction score
1
Location
Mesa, AZ
That’s kinda what was just going through my head, the past two winters it had to be plugged in below 50* to start. I think I also gave the cord quite a jolt, when I pulled my inner fender out for glow plugs.

Stupid question, but if you have it a jolt pulling the inner fender, have you verified it’s still plugged in? I know they’re more of a pain in the ass than that typically, but if the retainer wasn’t seated or had rusted or something, it could’ve happened…


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

eng53ine

Member
Joined
May 31, 2013
Messages
834
Reaction score
3
Location
Ohio
Stupid question, but if you have it a jolt pulling the inner fender, have you verified it’s still plugged in? I know they’re more of a pain in the ass than that typically, but if the retainer wasn’t seated or had rusted or something, it could’ve happened…


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I gave it a wiggle and pushed in on it, seemed to be attached, I’m going to pull it off and look at the contacts, also thought about just pulling the element. Wouldn’t think I’d be out more than a few choice words and a cup of coolant.
 

dsberman94

Active member
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
11,294
Reaction score
1
Location
Pennsylvania
I’ve done mine quick enough to only lose a minimal amount. Definitely not gallons, probably a cup or two. You could always do the shop vac on the coolant reservoir to crest vacuum and pull it out. Should keep a lot in.
 

Latest posts

Members online

Top