08 Sucking Snow Into Filter

Bigboytoys

Reaction score
So as the tittle says I'm having a problem with sucking snow into my air filter.

Years ago I had a TSB done by a dealer ship because of it packing the air box full of snow and tripping the air filter minder. They apparently installed an updated intake tube and it was suppose to help stop this problem. After a a bad trip of having my air box fill up with fine snow by driving through minor snow drifts and having to buy a new filter and come up with a rednecked up snow prevention method to get home, I'm kinda thinking there wasn't anything done.

Does any one have pics or part numbers of the stock intake pipe and the updated one?

Any Ideas to stop this?

Spatel23

Reaction score
I have no knowledge of an updated intake tube, but I do know Ford sells some sort of winter front.

It's basically a black mesh windscreen that fastens to your grill.

I'm sure some of the northern folk will be able to chime in with part #s and pictures.

You dont have to go with a ford one either, other companies make them also.

tensixniner

Reaction score
:whs:

Use the winter front grill cover.
It's not mesh but vinyl and has straps to attach to the grill. Works good.

Don't know anything about updated piping either.

CT9AIX

Reaction score
I just took the snorkle off all together. It's extremly small and restrictive anyways and the intake still gets cold air from above the wheel well liner area. Have done it to all our trucks with no issues.

Bigboytoys

Reaction score
We have a vinyl winter front and it was to warm for that to be used that day. The whole front end of the truck, behind the hood/grill assembly has a fine screen across it 365 and it wouldn't have stopped any of this snow.

The snow was so fine and blowing up every where, this is from hitting maybe 4-6 in deep drifts. It wasn't like I was out hammering drifts bumper deep just some times typical driving around here.