Top end tear down

lzam6285

Reaction score
Day 1. Well I'm finally starting my project, injectors/155's, studs, and gaskets. Anybody know about the oil rail cups? Should I replace them while I'm in there or is it a waste of money? I'm definitely doing the STC, IPR screen and stand pipes. I'm not having any issues with the head gaskets, it's just preventative and I figured I would do all the upgrades while I was there as well but at $40 bucks a pop for the cups and $60 for the cup tool. If I don't have to do them I rather spend the money els ware. Anyway if you guy think of anything I should be looking out for let me know, please.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 120

ghohouston

Reaction score
Ive been working on powerstrokes for the last 4 years or so, and have never heard of an oil rail cup, care to elaborate? Do you mean injector cups? If so, theres no sense in replacing them if theyre not bad. Id also rebuild/ install a new oil cooler while youre in there. And if your head gaskets arent blown, why replace them?

lzam6285

Reaction score
I did mean injector cup thanks. I figured the head gaskets would eventually go since they are prone to and with the bigger injectors I figured it would be sooner rather than later.

ghohouston

Reaction score
They dont just "go bad" stud it one at a time and leave your good, sened head gaskets. And seriously, dont replace injector cups if youre not getting fuel in your coolant

lzam6285

Reaction score
I do plan in doing the EGR delete and oil cooler, thanks TheReelMuhkoy.

ghohuston, I don't plan on spending any more money than I have to. I just figured since I was doing the studs I would just do the gaskets at the same time. I know its not the last time I'll be under the hood but I'd rally upset if I had to get back under there in a month or two and tare all this stuff out again just to do head gaskets.