38R & WW2

1ofakind79

Reaction score
Those of you that have a 38r with a WW2 is this the normal fitment? I talked to dieselsite and they told me there should be a larger than normal gap but this seems kinda big to me.
I'm having a low boost problem now and trying to figure out possible causes.

Charles

Reaction score
Any chance that is a wheel for a stock charger and it accidentally got sent out for your 38R?

You have a stock charger you could yank the compressor cover off and check fitment with? Wouldn't be shocked if it fit perfectly.

On Edit:

um..... I can't say that I'm a turbo expert by any stretch... but for a centrifugal compressor, is it my imagination, or are the g'damn blades on that machined wheel not ass backward for a reverse rotation compressor like the 38R?

Last edited:

1ofakind79

Reaction score
I will pull my stock charger apart now. It built 27lbs without a problem. This wheel was in a 38r. My 38r/WW2 combo only builds 7 lbs and smokes horribly.

Charles

Reaction score
Dude..... forget the stock charger.

I swear to God the blades look backward on that wheel. In my mind, that wheel needs to turn clockwise looking at the hub in order to compress air from inducer and fling it out through the exducer into the diffuser and housing.

Your 38R is a reverse rotation charger, so the blades need to be mirrored from that.

Actually if you look in the picture of the 38R wheel with that machined wheel you can see that the Garrett wheel is reversed...

Forget that wheel. Never gonna work. It's like trying to drill a hole with the bit turning backward, lol.

Probably a wheel just accidentally got thrown in the box wherever the machine shop is that's machining those wheels for Bob or something like that.

Anybody else see what I'm talking about?

This picture right here:

It's ass backward.

2013-05-14101253_zpsf7bebeaf.jpg

Last edited:

CanadianPS

Reaction score