rotella t6 5w40

berrnard

Reaction score
so i am new to the game, my 6.0 is my first diesel. the truck has 240k miles, im the 2nd owner and is in the shop for a new hpop and cooler and is getting an egr ******. and a few goodies added. stocked up on some rotella t6 synthetic as the research i did has that placed in top 5 of most people and it's affordable.
talking to the mechanic he said nah, we started to using mobil delvac. the rotella has too many detergents in it and makes the oil foamy as a result. you should not use that in 7.3s and 6.0s
does that sounds right? i wonder if he was talking about the t4 dino version.

6.0 Tech

Reaction score
so i am new to the game, my 6.0 is my first diesel. the truck has 240k miles, im the 2nd owner and is in the shop for a new hpop and cooler and is getting an egr ******. and a few goodies added. stocked up on some rotella t6 synthetic as the research i did has that placed in top 5 of most people and it's affordable.
talking to the mechanic he said nah, we started to using mobil delvac. the rotella has too many detergents in it and makes the oil foamy as a result. you should not use that in 7.3s and 6.0s
does that sounds right? i wonder if he was talking about the t4 dino version.

I wouldn’t use retells unless I was in bfe somewhere and somehow ran out of oil and it was all that was there to get me going again, just to get somewhere where I could change the oil with something decent.

Anyway, that being said, I honestly have not met a heui motor that actually ran better on synthetic than it did on a blend. Don’t know why, probably something to do with molecule expansion or something of that sort, or the weight difference (5-40 vs 15-40). My truck had actually lost .5 a second in the quarter mile just from synthetic oil, that had my chasing my tail for awhile. Ended up changing hpop and opt, before finally changing the oil and seeing my time drop.