Another coolant leak

TripleE44

Reaction score
Not too happy about this. The truck had leaked a couple spots on my parent's driveway a few weeks back that led me to idea to check the coolant level. It was very extremely low. So, I went and got some and added to it thinking it'd be a slow leak and I'd just have to add every once in a while.

Well, it's sped up. It's down pretty low. I'm no mechanic by any means, so I'm hoping someone can help me diagnose this so when I go into a shop I've already got an idea of what it could be. Anyways, here's a pic of what I can see from under the truck.

12e1ee28.jpg

And here's the spot under the truck from sitting in the parking lot for less than 3 mins. :mad:

e7ab8434.jpg

If y'all need any other pics to help see anything just let me know. Thanks in advance!

91turbogsx

Reaction score
Looks like you have a classic case of needing a new radiator. The drivers side end tank always seems to leak after a while.

TripleE44

Reaction score
Thanks guys. Is this the correct part number for the radiator?

8C3Z8009B - Radiator assy 6.4 LITER TURBO DIESEL

powr2stroke

Reaction score
Thanks guys. Is this the correct part number for the radiator?

8C3Z8009B - Radiator assy 6.4 LITER TURBO DIESEL

Not sure on the part # , but IIRC correctly there is an updated radiator with a build date after I think was around 8/07 that supposedly addressed the crimp failure . Might need to make sure if you back with a factory one , you get a fairly recently built one . I think Ford might still be trying use up all the old ones they're sitting on . Hence the repeated failures some of us are experiencing .

Just my 2 cents .

Last edited:

11STROKER

Reaction score