Bad IDM?

dthompson

Reaction score
Ok, working on my Dad's 02 7.3. Guy he sold it to said it needed a motor, so dad bought it back half price. Ended up being 2.5 gallons low on oil, so no ICP. After we got it running it never would start right even after a 300-400 miles. Still started like crap. Does have blowby, but still ran ok. Then last week, it had no power, missing, and died. Now i hooked AE up, and buzz seems to be ok, but then says: Cylinder 7 high to low side open, as well as 3,5,6,8. Also says Injector high side open Bank 2. Is this looking like the IDM took a crap?

TyCorr

Reaction score
2.5 gals low? It'll stop running a gal low.

The motor could be crap now if it was ran without oil.

Im no idm expert so Ill shut up now.

dthompson

Reaction score
It does have high pressure oil while cranking. I know that the motor needs changed, but ol' dad will drive it till it gives up. Think I might have an IDM that i could swap it out with. Guess I will give that a shot for now.

co04cobra

Reaction score
If it passes buzz test it's probably fine. Sounds more like uvch unplugged. I'd pull valve covers first.

While VCs are off pull compression then you'll know if that's why it was losing oil or injector oring problems.

Last edited:

lincolnlocker

Reaction score
If it passes buzz test it's probably fine. Sounds more like uvch unplugged. I'd pull valve covers first.

While VCs are off pull compression then you'll know if that's why it was losing oil or injector oring problems.
that too. I didnt catch that it passed buzz test.

live life full throttle

co04cobra

Reaction score
If it's partially unplugged it will still buzz. But hard start and both banks does change it. I didn't read all the way through the first post.

TARM

Reaction score
Blowby? enough to blow the oil fill cap off the inlet?