Dana 60 Build and Swap

Irishcream

Reaction score
So after many years of teasing and ridicule I have finally purchased a Dana 60 for the front end of my 97 F250. Since I am a heavy duty diesel mechanic I have all the tools of the trade and equipment to make this a relatively smooth swap but I have a few questions before going any further. The axle is out of a 94 F350 and has ball joints. I am totally rebuilding it as to eliminate any questions to it's reliability. I have so far removed all the steering components which I am replacing, removed the hubs, spindles and axle shafts. Next to come off will be the knuckles and finally the gear set.
My first question is
1: Since my existing axles have a 3.55 gear ratio which I don't mind, and the donor Dana has a 4.10 ratio what are my options. My parts department is having a hard time finding the gears for a Dana 60 in the 3.55 ratio. Can I use my existing gear set from my Dana 50 TTB and if so what process do I have to take?
2: If I chose to keep the 4.10s or am forced to keep them, how do I know whether I have the Sterling 10.25 or the 10.50?
3: I am planning on lifting my truck with the Dana 60 under it, is it better to get a track bar drop bracket or get an adjustable track bar and use the stock track bar location?
4: The Inner axle shafts on the 60 are getting worn where they meet the inner seals and every aftermarket axle shaft seems to be crome moly, expensive and 35 spline. Are stock axle shafts 35 spline? Can I use these 35 spline shafts with my stock outer axle shafts? Are there 2 piece inner seals available to eliminate any further wear on the shafts and stay with the stock shafts?
5: Final question for now. Do I need a new driveshaft from the transfer case or will the stock shaft work for now? I am planning on going to a 2 piece shaft once lifted but this build is going to be done over a long period of time.