Hydrolocking when it rains

OSCS

Reaction score
Strange issue my uncle is having here. He claims that when it rains heavily his truck has a hard time starting. He claims it is hydrolocking and has to let it sit for awhile and turn it over a few times before it will start. This is a 2002 He says its been going on for a few years and is increasingly getting worse.

Now i will say that my uncle is an established mechanic by trade and knows his way around a motor. He says hes never seen anything like this. I too agree this sounds strange and figure maybe there is a short somewhere that is opening up an injector?

Take note this only happens whens it has rained a lot.. ideas?

OSCS

Reaction score
Assuming fuel. I don't see how water/coolant could make its way into the cylinders. Take note that the hood is closed at all times, this is just a normal truck sitting in a driveway.

78f100

Reaction score
It's possible the idm/wiring is getting wet and over fueling a injector, causing hydro lock

Bustedknuckles

Reaction score
I had a windstar hydrolock the other day after a rainstorm. A leaking intake gasket and plugged cowl drain had filled #5 up with water 0_o

ghohouston

Reaction score
Strange issue my uncle is having here. He claims that when it rains heavily his truck has a hard time starting. He claims it is hydrolocking and has to let it sit for awhile and turn it over a few times before it will start. This is a 2002 He says its been going on for a few years and is increasingly getting worse.

Now i will say that my uncle is an established mechanic by trade and knows his way around a motor. He says hes never seen anything like this. I too agree this sounds strange and figure maybe there is a short somewhere that is opening up an injector?

Take note this only happens whens it has rained a lot.. ideas?

Holy crap, where have you been? I haven't seen you on here in what seems like a year.

OSCS

Reaction score