Minimum FRP. Crank no start.

fordman2121

Reaction score
Just finishing up on putting the truck back together from the deer incident. While it was down I went ahead and installed studs in the head. Anyway its been in a running state for a week or so just wasnt driveable yet untill yesterday. It has had about 2 hours of idle time on it. I took it down the road and back and opened it up once, did great. When I got back and let it idle for a minute it just pettered out and died. Long crank and start then petters out and dies and wont restart or maybe start/die again. Now heres my question. What is the minimum cranking fuel rail pressure? I know 6.0/7.3 has a min before it fires the injectors but what about the 6.4? I have 4400-4500 while cranking then all of a sudden it starts and jumps up to 9-10000 for a second truck dies and frp drops. My AE is showing 1600 for the pulse width. What am I missing? sorry for the long post but Im new to the 6.4, I can fix a 7.3/6.0 with my eyes closed. Any help?

Big Angry Hillbilly

Reaction score
Any codes?

What is your KOEO FRP reading?

Can you check your base fuel pressure?

You said you whacked a deer, did you reset the inertia switch? It's in the right lower kick panel under the glovebox.

fordman2121

Reaction score
KOEO is 0
I changed filters and while off i keyed it on and it refilled the bowl in a hurry. But didnt check psi.
I didnt reset it as it still ran after that and drove a mile to a lot and it has ran for a few hours since.

Is the Frp that Im seeing just a substitued value like the 6.0/7.3 would do when unplugging the ICP sensor?

Big Angry Hillbilly

Reaction score
If I recall rightly the FRP will go to like 36500 when the sensor is unplugged.

Can you monitor VCV and PCV duty cycles during cranking?

fordman2121

Reaction score