New Guy From Houston TX

Djmck832

Reaction score
Hello all.

I have been reading through a lot of posts on here and finally decided to join. The info available on here is incredible. Had my first EGR/OIL cooler issue sneak up one me a few weeks ago. I bought the truck in Jan 2013 w 120k. Dealer quoted 3200+. Didn't feel bad laughing at him. Had another mechanic look at it, same ridiculous price. At least it was confirmed EGR/OIL cooler. White smoke & all.

Now I'm no mechanic, but I can get it done. I have the tools, time & space (I extended my garage for this job). After weeks of research, OEM vs aftermarket, prices, I started to tear it down today. I stopped before removing the turbo. I noticed black fluid in all turbo pipes, as well as in the turbo itself. As this is my first time working on a diesel, I became concerned. Is this normal when the EGR cooler craps out? Black fluid everywhere?

Finding a trustworthy diesel mechanic is tough. Although this is not my profession, I'm not stupid. I know when I being hustled. Today, I came across the name Dorian from Power Stroke Enginuities in Northwest Houston. Read a lot of really positive reviews about him & his staff. Gave them a call & left a message. Didn't get a call back yet, so I'll swing by tomorrow when I'm free.

If anyone has any input, info, pointers, bullet point, tip or tricks, opinions on PSE in Houston, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading.

CoastalF350

Reaction score
Go to powerstroke magic! Wish I would have went there! Here nothing but good things about them. Now days im starting to do all I can on my own or help from a friend thats a diesel mechanic

Jeremyleggett07

Reaction score