Verifying My P1272 results...

Northwoods2002

Reaction score
New here, but plan to stay! I'm a high school autos teacher so I have access to a lot of neat toys some of you guys don't have...

Bought a 2002 F250 Lariat w/7.3 4R100. Bought it with 300k on the ticker and a week later did a total rebuild of the 4r100 (all the good mods). HOWEVER I've had this P1272 since I bought it. I am new to the diesel world...

Pulled the plug at the IDM and tested the harness, all under 5ohms, all within .5 ohms of each other. Pulled the drivers side cover and harness looked relatively new. I've done several Buzz tests and Contribution tests. Buzz tests come back with P1272 although all injectors fire and sound the same, CCT comes back with only Cyl #8 (which is typical). Has the slightest rough idle that you can hardly detect otherwise it runs well (towed a Pacifica 100ish miles and got 12.5mpg towing).

Am I looking at a bad injector? Its my DD and can't really afford to have it down.

MossBack

Reaction score
That would be cyl #2 hi to low side open... If you have verified wiring to and under the valve cover to injector and the pins are all good it is a injector.

We have tons of great vendors that make injectors here that can get really competitive prices for you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

Northwoods2002

Reaction score
Yeah, I've verified it and its testing good. Just sucks that its not causing IMHO a huge issue especially when the CCT comes back with no issue to have to spend $$ on injectors...

Well, looks like I need to find a second job to pay for my new ride... :)

As a second question, how long can I limp this injector along? Just spent $3300 on rebuilding the trans + t.c. money is kinda tight to spend $1000-2000 on injectors...

Last edited:

Irontx

Reaction score
Man... If it was me.... I'd throw a #2 injector in there and call it a day... save up till you can replace all 8....

Rideracelivemx7

Reaction score